Almost 23% of people in the world are Muslim. There are roughly 7.75 people in the world, and about 1.8 billion Muslims. But, can Muslims eat shrimp? In other words, is shrimp halal? We know it’s not the most pressing question in the world of Islam, but it’s a big one for the seafood lovers at He Needs Food!
The short answer is yes. There are multiple sects of Islam that have different requirements on what makes shrimp permissible, but as a whole, shrimp is considered halal, or safe for consumption.
In Islam, there is more freedom with dietary restrictions than what can be found in the Quran. It’s normal to feel confused about the rules and regulations that pertain to eating various foods, especially crustaceans like shrimp. And with multiple denominations in Islam, it can be tough to provide a standardized answer to questions about permissible foods.
If you are wondering if shrimp are halal, keep reading for everything you need to know!
We cover the following items in this post:
- What are Halal and Haram?
- Is Shrimp Haram or Halal?
- Which Seafood Is Haram In Islam?
- Final Thoughts
Halal and haram are two Arabic words that create a large framework of the Muslim lifestyle. They are used to inform Muslims whether lifestyle choices are acceptable or not within the laws of Islam.
- Halal refers to any food that is lawful or permissible. It is often used when discussing food, but it can also be referenced in many aspects of a Muslim’s life.
- Haram is the contrast of halal and refers to anything that’s unlawful or forbidden for Muslims.
The beauty of labeling foods as halal or haram is the clarity it provides those who practice Islam. There is no doubt about whether something is permissible or not!
Depending on your school of thought, there are differing regulations for eating shrimp in Islam. We’ve broken them down below, using the three largest denominations in Islam:
- Sunni Islam or Sunnism believes shrimp is halal when consumed in all forms.
- Shia Islam or Shi’ism believes shrimp can only be eaten alive or cooked.
- Ibadi Islam or Ibadism believes shrimp can be eaten as long as they were slaughtered and handled in alignment with the rules of the Quran.
As you can see, all denominations seem to allow for the consumption of shrimp. There are just a few minor requirements within each denomination that need to be satisfied. But either way, the Muslim people can enjoy the salty and slightly sweet taste of shrimp when they please!
An extra note: There are numerous additional schools of denominational and non-denominational Muslims. Each one may have slightly different requirements when it comes to seafood consumption, but the three denominations above account for the vast majority of Muslims across the globe.
Which Seafood Is Haram In Islam?
There is no haram seafood, as seafood is considered halal in Islam. Most schools of Islam allow for the consumption of crustaceans and seafood in general, as long as they are slaughtered and handled in accordance with the Quran.
However, if any sea creature was dead prior to being captured, and not slaughtered in accordance with Islamic law, it is considered haram and should not be eaten.
Shrimp is considered halal, or permissible for consumption, as long as they’re prepared in accordance with the requirements of each school of Islam.
There are many small changes that occur from school to school, which is where a lot of confusion stems from. Shrimp is a sea creature so it is considered to fall under the guidelines of halal food restrictions.
One final note: Shrimp is so versatile that it can often be served either as the star of a dish, or as a nice supporting side. As such, you should be sure the meal in its entirety is halal, especially if the shrimp is not the star of the show!
Are All Seafood Halal?
For the most part, yes. There are varying requirements within each school that can apply to how the seafood is slaughtered, maintained, and prepared. But seafood is generally a safe choice in the various Islamic denominations.
Do Muslims Eat Shrimp and Lobster?
Muslims can eat shrimp and lobster. Whether they do or not depends on personal preference.
Can You Eat Shrimp In Islam?
Can Muslims Eat Mantis Shrimp?
Yes. There is no delineation we can find on the type of shrimp eaten, as long as the shrimp are prepared in alignment with the Quran. The taste of mantis shrimp is a bit sweeter and more powerful than traditional shrimp, which may be appealing to many who have not yet tried them.